Image by StockSnap from Pixabay; Text added by author

81 Things I‘ve Learned About B2B Marketing

Do you agree with these lessons?

8 min readOct 10, 2020

--

You could say I stumbled into my marketing career.

My path looked something like this:

  • I got a degree in magazine journalism and briefly worked in that field. Less than a year later, the magazine was acquired by another company and my position was eliminated.
  • I landed in the editorial department of New York City tourism. Still not technically marketing, but I was creating content to “ sell” New York City to tourists.
  • I moved to Boston and got a job on the content team at a public relations agency. I spent a lot of time working with founders, developers and heads of engineering departments at B2B tech companies. I didn’t interact with many marketers.
  • I moved back to the New York City area and landed a job doing branded content strategy in the employer branding space. I did work with the marketing team a lot. But I was on the customer success team.
  • Eventually, I made my way to an official marketing team at a B2B tech company, where I’m responsible for our global content and social media strategy.

It turns out, there’s a lot you can learn about marketing from… well… not working in marketing at first. It also turns out, having jobs in related…

--

--

Alyssa Greenfield

Thought leadership strategist and ghostwriter for startup founders | Sharing content that supports fundraising, team building and customer acquisition